How can you be successful in digital age?

Soner Görpeli
3 min readMar 9, 2021

--

As you know, we are in the middle of the digital age and we have to consider the future! We are changing and the world is changing. While everything is changing; the work we do is also changing! Think 10 years ago, when you were in the college or when you were in your job, could you possibly think today’s changes or updates. For me, I could have never thought the things get to this point.

I want to give an example from myself and from my experience. When the digital age had started in the late or beginning 2000s; I was at the University and i had a computer which was Intel Pentium IV and it was really good desktop computer for that time. Everybody knows that who had connected to internet and downloaded a picture or who had tried to read a newspaper from the first generation online newspaper; that was really slow compared to now!

In that time, I had studied computer programming at the same time with the university. I had learnt a lot of things and i had liked to code webpage design and tried to code e-commerce websites. It was really fun for me and i liked the idea for anything with the related to computer world or software world. By the time, while computers were developing, so were smartphones. In that time, Nokia was so popular; so were Blackberry.

I had liked smartphones and I had changed my phone in every year and I had bought new models when they were on the shelf. Even though I was so concerned; i could not imagine that technology would make this extent in such a short time. I think, it had started with the announcement of the iPhone for the first time, the world has moved to very different places. It meant the community; not the phone and nobody had looked this way except Steve Jobs.

After the announcement of the new iPhone, there was a community there and this community has started to produce. They have started to create app for smartphones and these apps started to change the world and people’s habits. When i heard that YouTube was sold for US $1.6 billion to Google in 2006, i was really shocked and i couldn’t believe my eyes! But this move was something for the tech world and everything had changed with this movement.

It was something for startup world and everybody got that technology startups were the future and entrepreneurs has started to develop their products and we have seen lots of unicorns in the world. So everything has changed and YouTube buying, it was the start fire for the startup world. However, there have been many developments so far. Instagram has started and Facebook had bought Instagram. Whatsapp had setup by some tech geeks and Facebook had bought Whatsapp again.

AI and Data Science has entered our tech life and it had changed everything in technology world. SaaS and other tech products have improved a lot and will continue to improve till the end of the world. There are many examples to give and a long way to go, so I want to summarize the subject and remind you for the future development. In the near future, there will be a digital revolution and jobs will change. I advice you to learn app development, data science and digital strategy things for your your benefit. We know that everything will be changed very fastly and if we don’t catch up it, we lose.

Picture Credit: Pixabay

--

--